The Cannon and Porta San Marco
From here, one can observe the San Marco–Pontino district, the first district that emerged outside the Medici walls at the end of the 18th century. In front stands Porta San Marco, built in 1840 by the engineer Raish Hammer for the new customs wall, recognizable by the winged lion in marble at the top.
The gate is linked to the defense of Livorno on May 10-11, 1849, when the city resisted — uniquely in Tuscany — the siege of 18,000 Austrian soldiers. For this episode, Livorno received the gold medal for the values of the Risorgimento.
The visible cannon is a Napoleon-era naval piece, placed here in the 1970s to commemorate the role of the fortress during those battles.